Saturn Outlook Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife comes home from work the other day and complains that the car never cooled down on the ride home. I start it up and hot air is coming out of the vents so I pop the hood. I can hear the compressor short cycling, I put a set of gauges on it it and it is shutting down because of high pressure, I am guessing something isn't opening in the lines so I make an appointment, we have to wait until Monday morning to drop it off at the Cadillac dealer that handles Saturns. This morning I start the car to check it out and same problem, short cycling but cooler air is blowing out of the driver side and really hot air out of the passenger side. Now the car has only been running a minute or two so there is no way the engine is hot enough to blow heat, I am guessing there is a reversing valve gone wrong and the AC is producing heat, like a house heat pump? Just grasping at straws since I am not a mechanic. Any ideas out there?

·
Registered
754 Posts
read up on the blend door actuators.
One of those could be in the wrong position.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What the dealer came up with it was 1 1/2 lbs. low in Freon. They claimed they vacuumed it down and held so it isn't leaking. I find it hard to believe, I install home AC and know that Freon just doesn't disappear. What I know is it's working, but has a strange odor out of the vents.

·
Registered
142 Posts
I had the same issue with my 2008. Twice I had to have the system recharged. They added a dye to it both times but no leak found.
Tim C.

doropallo said:
What the dealer came up with it was 1 1/2 lbs. low in Freon. They claimed they vacuumed it down and held so it isn't leaking.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
TSC1969 said:
I had the same issue with my 2008. Twice I had to have the system recharged. They added a dye to it both times but no leak found.
Tim C.