Saturn Outlook Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Found the source for the DIC buttons for the XE w/o the DIC. (For future search-ability Driver Information Center Buttons ) :thumb:

http://www.trademotion.com/partlocator/index.cfm?action=getLocator&siteid=24&chapter=DP8V50&appSectionid=3&groupid=10030&subgroupid=20048&componentid=61823&make=31&model=Outlook&year=2007&catalogid=1

You may also need this part, unless you want to hack up your dash to get the buttons to look factory:

http://www.trademotion.com/partlocator/index.cfm?action=getLocator&siteid=24&chapter=DR8IJ07&appSectionid=2610&groupid=4805&subgroupid=4935&componentid=83123&make=31&model=Outlook&year=2007&graphicID=IJ07325&callout=6&catalogid=2

Pretty cheap - but the question remains if you need to get your Outlook reflashed to make it operate, or simply unplug the negative for a period of time. I will try the latter when I get the buttons in, and report back!!

:cheers:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
FYI - I popped the trim piece off of my XE and there is no wiring harness. My XE has base audio (replaced) and manual climate control. FYI - I also popped the trim piece on the right side of the steering wheel and also found there was no harness for steering wheel audio controls. Oh well...

Jim
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
From the few threads I've read on getting the DIC to work, the common piece seems to be the dual zone auto climate control, with it you likley have the harness, without you are likley out of luck. I would love to do the mod to my Outlook, but the trim piece is a challange, option one is cut a hole in the current piece (since I lease not a good idea), order a piece from an XR, but I think the trim would be wood grain, not black, or three, order the XE piece and get cutting again.

If someone can confirm that with the dual zone climate, the upgrade would be a simple plug and play, I'd likely give option 3 a shot.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Ok,

Does anybody know if this will work for me?

I have a 2009 Outlook XE with the steering wheel radio controls but base radio and manual HVAC. Do I have a chance of the DIC working in my ride?? We traded my wifes Volvo V70 on this Outlook and it had a full DIC. I miss that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
I pulled the panel around the radio and there is no extra connector, anyone in a 08/09 pulled the piece above steering wheel. I have an 09 xe tri climate cant get the piece above steering wheel off without too much pressure dont want to break
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Any updates? I still havent figured out where the darn connector is... must be buried somewhere behind the cluster?

Wish I had a service dvd for the Outlook, it'd show where the wires go to for the XR, and we could trace it back...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
The links in the first post of this thread point to a general parts page.
What are the part numbers?
Anything more on the progress of this?
I really miss this feature.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
MaxPower - any luck at all? Are you still out there?

Is it true that no XEs have the DIC buttons?

My dealer is trying to tell me that the XEs he has don't have them because they were rental vehicles and they were a "fleet delete option" - something I've never heard of.

Is it only the XRs which have them and all XRs have woodgrain, so the only option if the connector can be found and they work would be to cut a non-woodgrain panel?

Any feedback is welcome.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I know this is an old thread but I recently took on the challenge of putting the DIC buttons in my XE and thought I would share.
The short story is yes I added the DIC buttons and yes they work.

My vehicle: 08 XE, standard radio, tri zone climate, rear entertainment.

Like the rest of you without the buttons I pulled off my radio and prayed that it would be as simple as finding an extra connector stuffed in there but that wasn't the case. I have been lurking around the forums for a while and I have gathered tid bits of info from others who have added the buttons or tried to add the buttons so this wasn't just me on a whim. After finding the pinouts for the Instrument panel cluster and the DIC connecter, and getting the pigtail number from the acadia forum, I figured it was just a matter of running wires so I gave it a shot and it works.

These are the parts I used

DIC switch GM #15130171
DIC pigtail ACDelco #PT2128 (I got mine on ebay for ~$30, but other listing and parts websites have it for ~$65)
GM #88988747 (same part just GMs number)
22awg wire
3 female crimp pins .1" (I got mine from Frys in a pack of 10, just put #2875774 in the frys.com search box and it should come up, made by pactech)
heat shrink tubing
wire sleeve
soldering iron, solder

Pull off the dash and remove the gauge cluster. The only part I got hung up on was the trim piece that goes from the air vent over the steering column, the ends are held on by clips like the radio bezel but the center is just a tab sticking up. If you roll the piece forward it should loosen up and you can pull it down.

I disconnected my battery while playing with the wires just in case. You have to add 3 wires to the instrument panel connector in pins 6,7, and 19. I made wires with the crimp pins and heat shrinked them and just stuffed them into the back of the connector with a small screw driver.

Pinout for Instrument panel cluster (plug facing you, wires out the back and retainer clip up, pin 1 is top right)
Pin 6 DIC select menu switch Pink
Pin 7 DIC switch signal D-Green/White
Pin 19 Low Reference Brown

For the DIC connector the pinout (plug facing you, clip up, pin 1 on right)
Pin 1 DIC Switch signal D-Green/White (the pigtail has all white wires, the colors are what the factory harness would have)
Pin 2 Low Reference Brown
Pin 3 DIC Select menu switch Pink
Pin 4 LED dimming signal Purple/white
Pin 5 Ground Black

I connected all the wires at first with alligator clips, ran ground to a metal piece under the dash and left the LED alone for a test. I wasn't going to waste my time soldering everything if it didn't work. I reattached my battery and pulled the Display fuse from under the glove box, I left it out for a few minutes. Put the fuse back in turned the key and started pushing buttons. I now have Advanced DIC features in my XE.

I soldered up all the connections and heat shrinked them to make them look nice, I ran ground to a bolt that holds another connector to a beefy metal part in the dash on the left side (under the air vent) and I spliced in the LED dimming wire to the LED dimming wire on the headlight control (purple/white stripe). As of right now the switch is hanging under my dash until I figure out if I can order the trim piece in brushed (I doubt it) or if I'm going to cut it. The main thing is it works and I have fuel range, avg mpg, avg speed, tire pressure, a bunch settings: approach lights, chime volume, remote door lock, door lock delay and some others I can't remember.

I just pieced together information that others have posted to figure this out, mostly the 15 page thread on the acadia forum.
These pictures are from the Acadia forum from simadownow6988 who wanted to sell a kit for installing
but I don't think he's still around (last post 2010).
picasaweb.google.com/100400211257978204886/2010AcadiaDIC#
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
214 Posts
WOW! Great job and fantastic write up you posted here. I don't have a need for this but appreciate when others share information they have learned. I'm glad to see you got it to work for you, and hopefully others who want to do this can now go forward. :dancing:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
I followed your instructions and it worked great! Only minor change i did was to skip the DIC Pigtail. I just soldered the crimp pins on the wire ends and plugged them into the DIC switch. I had to open up the Instrument Panel connector a little to get the pins to line up with the holes better. Also did not unhook the battery nor pull the display fuse.
I stuck the DIC right in front of the OBD computer connector. It sort of looks like it belongs there.

Now i'm wondering if i can add the radio controls to the steering wheel...






Skull_Leader said:
I know this is an old thread but I recently took on the challenge of putting the DIC buttons in my XE and thought I would share.
The short story is yes I added the DIC buttons and yes they work.

My vehicle: 08 XE, standard radio, tri zone climate, rear entertainment.

Like the rest of you without the buttons I pulled off my radio and prayed that it would be as simple as finding an extra connector stuffed in there but that wasn't the case. I have been lurking around the forums for a while and I have gathered tid bits of info from others who have added the buttons or tried to add the buttons so this wasn't just me on a whim. After finding the pinouts for the Instrument panel cluster and the DIC connecter, and getting the pigtail number from the acadia forum, I figured it was just a matter of running wires so I gave it a shot and it works.

These are the parts I used

DIC switch GM #15130171
DIC pigtail ACDelco #PT2128 (I got mine on ebay for ~$30, but other listing and parts websites have it for ~$65)
GM #88988747 (same part just GMs number)
22awg wire
3 female crimp pins .1" (I got mine from Frys in a pack of 10, just put #2875774 in the frys.com search box and it should come up, made by pactech)
heat shrink tubing
wire sleeve
soldering iron, solder

Pull off the dash and remove the gauge cluster. The only part I got hung up on was the trim piece that goes from the air vent over the steering column, the ends are held on by clips like the radio bezel but the center is just a tab sticking up. If you roll the piece forward it should loosen up and you can pull it down.

I disconnected my battery while playing with the wires just in case. You have to add 3 wires to the instrument panel connector in pins 6,7, and 19. I made wires with the crimp pins and heat shrinked them and just stuffed them into the back of the connector with a small screw driver.

Pinout for Instrument panel cluster (plug facing you, wires out the back and retainer clip up, pin 1 is top right)
Pin 6 DIC select menu switch Pink
Pin 7 DIC switch signal D-Green/White
Pin 19 Low Reference Brown

For the DIC connector the pinout (plug facing you, clip up, pin 1 on right)
Pin 1 DIC Switch signal D-Green/White (the pigtail has all white wires, the colors are what the factory harness would have)
Pin 2 Low Reference Brown
Pin 3 DIC Select menu switch Pink
Pin 4 LED dimming signal Purple/white
Pin 5 Ground Black

I connected all the wires at first with alligator clips, ran ground to a metal piece under the dash and left the LED alone for a test. I wasn't going to waste my time soldering everything if it didn't work. I reattached my battery and pulled the Display fuse from under the glove box, I left it out for a few minutes. Put the fuse back in turned the key and started pushing buttons. I now have Advanced DIC features in my XE.

I soldered up all the connections and heat shrinked them to make them look nice, I ran ground to a bolt that holds another connector to a beefy metal part in the dash on the left side (under the air vent) and I spliced in the LED dimming wire to the LED dimming wire on the headlight control (purple/white stripe). As of right now the switch is hanging under my dash until I figure out if I can order the trim piece in brushed (I doubt it) or if I'm going to cut it. The main thing is it works and I have fuel range, avg mpg, avg speed, tire pressure, a bunch settings: approach lights, chime volume, remote door lock, door lock delay and some others I can't remember.

I just pieced together information that others have posted to figure this out, mostly the 15 page thread on the acadia forum.
These pictures are from the Acadia forum from simadownow6988 who wanted to sell a kit for installing
but I don't think he's still around (last post 2010).
picasaweb.google.com/100400211257978204886/2010AcadiaDIC#
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Awesome, glad it all came together for you. :thumb: I bet you can add the radio controls, the only problem I see is if you have to run wires down your steering column or if there is some special connector in there that allows the wheel to turn independently of the wires.

For a long time I just left my buttons hanging under the dash, but I eventually found a thread in a Trailblazer forum of a guy adding buttons and using the DIC clip from silverado/sierra and epoxying it where he wanted.

tbssowners.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73073

I ended up cutting out a hole in my dash, more like melting out a hole with my soldering iron. It looks ok but you can tell I cut the hole. I wish I bought a dremel for this. The dash piece is a good 1/4 inch thick.

4freeimagehost.com/show.php?i=PUSH32aab3273437.jpg

(if I could post links I would you'll just have to copy/paste)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Thanks Again! I couldn't have done it without your pin hookup information. I do have a question on fog lights. I just added some with a separate switch. No i'd like to feed a wire into the back of the instrument panel so the "little fog light icon" will light up. Do you happen to know what pin it would go to?


Skull_Leader said:
Awesome, glad it all came together for you. :thumb: I bet you can add the radio controls, the only problem I see is if you have to run wires down your steering column or if there is some special connector in there that allows the wheel to turn independently of the wires.

For a long time I just left my buttons hanging under the dash, but I eventually found a thread in a Trailblazer forum of a guy adding buttons and using the DIC clip from silverado/sierra and epoxying it where he wanted.

tbssowners.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73073

I ended up cutting out a hole in my dash, more like melting out a hole with my soldering iron. It looks ok but you can tell I cut the hole. I wish I bought a dremel for this. The dash piece is a good 1/4 inch thick.

4freeimagehost.com/show.php?i=PUSH32aab3273437.jpg

(if I could post links I would you'll just have to copy/paste)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Fog Lights...

Additional info if adding fog lights too. I also added this on the fog light page. Followed jcarm75’s idea and it worked perfect! Use GM part number: GM2593157 for lights. These run about $25 and up a piece, but require you to remove three screws to get it to fit in the Saturn XE. When you take apart the fog light assembly you end up with the hardware to mount them in the cutouts. I had to add a harness with a relay (from ebay for $10) to power the fog lights. I wired the main harness right off the red power attach point under the hood.
Now for the switch, and this is where it gets tough.
You can just add separate toggle switch under the dash if you want. That is the simple solution. However, I wanted the “Factory switch”, and with it the little icon light on the instrument panel. Also, the factory foglights turn off when your high beams are on. That’s because by law you are only supposed to have a 2 white lights on each side looking forward. (total of 4 lights max).
To do this, the light switch part number you need is 25822153. You can do a search and find it for around $35 plus shipping. I got it from GMpartsgiant.com.
Now your harness is missing some of the wires you need for the switch. You will need to solder in some Female crimp Pins to some 22 gauge wire.
(I got mine from Frys in a pack of 10, just put #2875774 in the frys.com search box and it should come up, made by pactech)
Find socket number 6 on the headlight switch connecter and push the pin it. I had to remove the red plastic “lock” to get the pin pushed all the way in.
Now the other end needs a pin and it will go to the BCM (Body Control Module). It is the black computer brain under the dash to the left of the steering column with 7 connectors going to it. You need to unplug the X3 connector. (mine was blue, 3rd from the back). You need to release the lock and slid the pin into #21. 21 is right next to 22 Grn/White. For reference, 19 is a light blue, 20 is empty.
At this point your icon should light when you push the fog button.
Note the fog switch works by shifting “grounds” to the BCM, and the BCM works by controlling the ground to the fog light relay (NOT THE POWER).
Unplug the X4 connector from the BCM. This 4rth from the back and color is black. Need to get a pin into socket #11. 11 is in-between 10 which is red/wht, and 12 which is yellow. Unlock the connector and make sure the pin is all the way in. You can test the wire at this point with a continuity meter and should have a “ground” when the fog light icon is on.
Now you must route your new ground wire out to the fog light relay. I spliced my power off the running lights.





Skull_Leader said:
There is nothing noted on the pinout for the cluster, it may be controlled by another module I don't know.

4freeimagehost.com/show.php?i=PUSH4948b736bc42.jpg
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top