Saturn Outlook Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

My name is Dustin and I am an Army Soldier stationed in Germany. we have a 2009 Saturn Outlook XE AWD which has been making a clunking sound (and feeling) from the front passenger side. My wife told me its been happening for awhile so I took a look under there this weekend while doing an oil change. It seems the front passenger side strut is broken somehow and the spring is more compressed while staying still then the drivers side.

My question is this, can I replace just the two front struts and use the springs which are on there or do i need to replace the springs as well. As you can imagine parts are expensive to order here, so i would like to use the springs already on there if possible.

Also, I found front struts from autozone for $150 each shipped to my APO address. This does not show the spring though, and I cant seem to find springs to replace them. Any help with his would be appreciated.

Last: Can I do this work myself in our on post DIY car care center. They have lifts, air tools, and spring compressors and I have done suspension work on several Jeeps before, but never a newer SUV like this..... Thanks for all the help.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Additionally,

I have pictures of the front drivers and passengers side strut but i do not know how to post them. I tried in the attachment area and it keeps giving me an error.

·
Registered
754 Posts
I recently ordered these below from Amazon.... theres a bit of a wait on Amazon-- but they are CHEAP compared to autoparts.
I believe someone on the Acadia forum ordered some of these from the Autoparts and had them in a few days.. though the price higher.
These are the same ones your 2009 uses.
GO check out Amazon and see when they will ship again....

Gabriel ready mount struts. G57109
I ordered these back in April .
Amazon-
Price-$119.71
CA 9% Tax- $10.77
Total- $130.48 EACH unit.