Saturn Outlook Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I have been looking around for a cheap, good looking suv with lots of cargo space, and I have fallen in love with the Saturn Outlook!

I am a student, so I am unfortunately looking at the ones with higher milage (120 - 180.000), and I wanted to ask if this is a bad idea? I can get a 2007 XR with ALL options for around $9000, but it has 170k. The deal seems ok, but is it worth it in the long run? I will use it for 90% interstate and 10% city, if that makes any difference.

I know NOTHING about cars, I just really love what this car offers! I just don't want to end up spending a lot of money on repairs.

Thank you!

Best,
Magnus

·
Registered
45 Posts
Dear Magnus, unless you're an independently wealthy student I wouldn't advise that you buy this vehicle. The cost to own could prove prohibitive. Any car with close to 200k will cost to maintain. Tires alone will be in the neighborhood of $600/ set and the most important is the drivetrain( engine & transmission). You're probably going to be getting about 16-18 mpg and gas will not come cheap. If its only you in a vehicle look for something more economical and save your money for, I don't know, TUITION!!! :angel:

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your reply. I'm from Europe, but in USA for internship and exchange student - and I really need a big car that I can sleep in when I go on assignments throughout the country (studying photojournalism). This car is just perfect, and I don't mind the low mpg - gas is less than twice the price here than from where I come from.
If I can find one with maybe 120 - 130k, would it still be expensive in repairs and so on? Thanks

·
Registered
754 Posts
Magnus-

the following vehicles are based on the same platform.
Chevrolet Traverse (2009 and up)
GMC Acadia
Buick Enclave.

From 2009 and up- the engines are Direct Injection.