Saturn Outlook Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an 08 Xe at about 4000 miles and i am looking at different oils to use. I have narrowed it down to these choices.

Amsoil XL-7500 5w-30
Mobil 1 Extended performance 5w-30
Mobil 1 Advanced Fuel Economy 0w-30

What oils are you using in your outlook and how is it performing?

·
Registered
36 Posts
I have been using pennzoil platinum 5w-30 with wix filters. You can go on Bob is the oil guy website they have a lot of info on oils and filters.

·
Registered
25 Posts
zfiero said:
I have been using pennzoil platinum 5w-30 with wix filters. You can go on Bob is the oil guy website they have a lot of info on oils and filters.
what is the time change on the pennzoil platinum? WIX are the best filters, i've been using them since 1998

·
Registered
45 Posts
muskieteer said:
The mobil extended oil does not meet the Gm6094 benchmark that is required for the 3.6 v-6.
What about the Mobil 1 Extended Performance 5w-30 isn't up to par with the GM oil requirements?

Mobil 1 recommends it for 08's under warranty.... (along with the M1 Fuel Economy , and the M1 5w-30 truck/suv)

·
Registered
142 Posts
I waited until 9000 miles and converted to Castrol Syntec 5W-30
Tim C.

·
Registered
54 Posts
I have never used synthetic oil. I know it is supposed to last longer. Other than than, do you feel other difference, fuel economy, for instance?

Do you still change oil every 3k miles with synthetic?

·
Registered
26 Posts
tradewind said:
I have never used synthetic oil. I know it is supposed to last longer. Other than than, do you feel other difference, fuel economy, for instance?

Do you still change oil every 3k miles with synthetic?